Toggle Menu


Where does Myki store my passwords?

Myki stores your passwords locally on Myki-enabled devices. Your passwords are not stored in the cloud which makes it virtually impossible for hackers to steal your data from a remote location. This is a very important point that we believe other password managers do not address. When your passwords are stored in the cloud, a hacker can try to compromise that cloud in order to gain access to the entire database of encrypted user vaults. In the case of Myki, the backups are decentralized across your Myki apps which prevents hackers from gaining access to a large number of backups by hacking one cloud. Attackers would need to try to compromise one device at a time in order to gain access to the encrypted password list which is extremely difficult because the password vault remains in your possession at all times.



What happens if I lose or change my phone or computer?

Myki automatically stores backups on any device that you have Myki installed on. This allows you to recover your data from another device in case something happens to your phone or computer . You can also create manual backups of Myki that will generate a ‘.myki' file that you can store in any location that you deem secure.



How does Myki communicate with my computer?

Myki can be installed as a desktop application on your computer or you can pair your smartphone app with your computer through the Myki browser extension that is installed in your browser of choice. You connect the app with the Myki extension by scanning a QR code on your computer with the Myki app (see steps here). This creates a P2P encrypted link between the Myki app and the Myki browser extension which allows your phone and computer to securely exchange passwords and other sensitive data. Scanning a QR code is an optical way of transferring information between your phone and your browser which ensures that the encryption key is never exchanged over the Internet. Any intruder trying to intercept your network communication would not be able to decrypt the data being transmitted.



How can I add my passwords to Myki?

There are three ways for you to add your passwords to Myki. The first one is through the Myki app. You can click on the '+' sign and manually type in your username and your password for the selected website. The second method is via the chrome extension while you browse. Whenever you log into a website on your computer that has a paired Myki chrome extension, Myki will ask you to save the account into your Myki app. Clicking the save button will add the account to Myki which will allow Myki to auto-fill it from that point onwards. The third method is to import your accounts from Google Chrome or another password manager via the Myki chrome extension by following the steps in our guide (Import Your Existing Passwords To Myki).



How can I sync my passwords to my computer?

Whether you have the Myki desktop app installed or only rely on the browser extension that is paired to your smartphone, the data is seamlessly synced P2P between the different Myki apps in the background. You do not need to do anything to move the data from one device to another.



How are my passwords encrypted while being sent to the computer?

In order to pair the Myki app with your computer browser via the Myki browser extension, you scan a QR code that contains an AES256-CBC encryption key that is only ever seen by the Myki app and the Myki Browser Extension. Whenever you request a passwords or other sensitive data from the Myki app, the data is encrypted using this encryption key and sent over the Internet in a P2P encrypted manner to your computer. This ensures that the communication between the app and the computer is always secure. Whenever you disconnect, the Myki app from your computer by either pressing the disconnect button on the app or in the extension, the key is deleted from both ends and the extension removes any sensitive data that it holds including any session data that it generated. Whenever you disconnect the Myki app from a computer, you get logged out from all the accounts that Myki logged you into which is useful in different use cases.